PLATINUM AWARD

FOR BLENDED MONKEY

RATED EXCELLENT BY

CRAFTCOURSES.COM

 

TESTIMONIALS

Student Reviews

 

RICHARD - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

April 2021

I really enjoyed the woodturning experience. Simon, the tutor, gave a really good introduction to both the tools and the wood we would use. His balance of demonstrating what we would do and letting the student loose was ideal. In the morning I made a honey spoon and in the afternoon a lovely bowl. A thoroughly enjoyable day with an interesting tutor and ample refreshments, including a tasty lunch in the kitchen. I might well be booking another session in the near future. Thanks for the experience!

 

SID - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

April 2021

My wife got me this course as a Christmas present. I had a fantastic day. Simon was an excellent teacher full of useful knowledge and guidance which he happily passed on. Produced two beautiful pieces of work of which I am very proud. Beautiful surroundings, nice workshop I would happily recommend this course to anyone.

 

VERONICA - 1-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

November 2020

A really good introduction to different methods of making pottery items. It was lovely touch to get a certificate and the next day a whole host of good photographs. This experience was bought by my husband as a Christmas present and I will treasure my items once I get them back after firing and glazing. I would recommend this workshop and I will want to go again for another day to do some coiled items. - Veronica

 

HOWARD - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

October 2020

Sorry for the delay in sending this review, I am not good at doing reviews as they usual sound naff if they're good.

I came on the day out at the end of October after receiving it as a birthday present, I had bought a lathe in June this year and try to get to grips with it, making a lot of mistakes and with all the catches started to get anxious when using it. Did make a few things but wasn't very happy with finished item.

So came to see Simon and we started at the very beginning with the basics, went through everything tools, sharpening, how to stand, and most important how to use the chisels the correct way!

Well worth the it, if I was paying for myself I might have had second thoughts, but I would have been wrong, definitely one to one tuition was ideal for me.

I can now go to the lathe and with confidence start turning.
Recommended
Thank you. - Howard

 

MARIANNA - HALF-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

October 2020

I was very fortunate to be able to return to Blended Monkey for a half day pottery course as a follow on to my full-day course. I had loved my initial experience so much, I had asked whether I could return to learn a bit more about processes of throwing on the wheel and finishing pieces of work. I suspect I may have developed a new crush on pottery and ceramics!


I cannot describe just how therapeutic and soothing the whole experience of creating things on a wheel can be. Seeing a ball of clay develop into a piece that can be functional whilst aesthetically very rewarding is nothing short of alchemy. On my second trip to see the wonderful Louise, (who is also a great teacher and incredibly patient and knowledgeable) I had a taster of seeing how bases are refined and finished - how to work with finished pieces at the leather hard stage, I also had a chance at trying out shaping pots into bowl shapes and even , ....wait for it.....made a bowl I am proud of, at the very last hurdle.

Louise also kindly demonstrated other techniques as to shaping necks and manipulating the clay into various shapes - it was all eye opening and a total joy to watch. I think the whole experience is a genuinely fun and exciting journey - of course you create a few wonky pots along that journey but they are one of a kind pieces - I cannot wait to see them all glazed up. Louise also puts all the finishing touches including glaze and you come away feeling a great sense of achievement. She is a great host, tea and mince pies at the ready and great conversation whilst maintaining professionalism throughout. I am hoping to be able to return for other sessions at a later date ( if Louise can face having me back again) - Marianna

 

FAYE & TONY - 1-DAY PAIRS 2 CRAFTS IN 1 DAY EXPERIENCE

October 2020

Amazing day at blended monkeys, my husband booked this as a surprise, and I loved it. Really friendly engaging teachers, and such a lot of fun. Lunch was lovely and water teas and biscuits on tap. Highly recommend this day both wood turning and pottery were really interesting. Lots of laughs, thank you. - Faye

 

MARK - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

October 2020

Great day, well worth doing.
Simon is very informative and works well towards your needs and capabilities.
I learned a lot and will soon be turning bowls for fun. Thanks for a great day.

 

CASSY - 1-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

October 2020

This was a birthday present for my daughter who absolutely loved every minute of this workshop, she didn't want the day to end. This is way better than going to school! :) The day was full of laughs and we did learn and experiment a lot with various different styles of pottery and ways of imprinting designs on our masterpieces.

Louise was very patient and very good at explaining how to do things especially on the wheel which seemed like the trickiest part of the day as first yet the most enjoyable once the technique was mastered my daughter was addicted.

Lunch was too very good with more than enough to go round and something for everyone. The atmosphere was great too and both Louise and Simon are very easy to get along with.

Thank you both for our wonderful memories :) We hope to visit you again in the new year! - Jenny

 

FLO & AARON - 1-DAY PAIRS 2 CRAFTS IN 1 DAY EXPERIENCE

October 2020

I booked this course for myself and my partner as a birthday gift. With minimal/zero experience in wood turning and pottery, we were very excited to give both crafts a go! The day really exceeded expectations, with a very professional approach from Louise and Simon when it came to teaching basic techniques in an engaging and friendly way.
We left Blended Monkey with the satisfaction of having learnt (or started to !!) new skills, and with the added bonus of a piece of woodwork in hand which was very satisfying.
Overall I could not recommend Blended Monkey highly enough, regardless of skill level. The teaching is really personal, so can easily be tailored, and the environment is so relaxing and welcoming that you can't help but feel at home.

 

ABBI & SIAN - 1-DAY PAIRS WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

November 2020

This was a birthday present from my spouse and I took my BFF along for the experience. We are complete beginners and had a fabulous day woodturning in a calm, relaxed atmosphere. Simon was kind and patient in his tuition, ensuring we had help when we needed it. Simon knows his craft, is obviously experienced in teaching and ensured we came away with beautiful, unique honey drizzlers and bowls to be proud of. Louise and Simon could not have made the day any better. Thank you both. - Abbi

I went as the willing plus-1 with no particular expectations. I had a great day! Thoroughly enjoyed learning to use the tools and making things that are not only functional but also attractive. Simon is an excellent tutor, who clearly enjoys the art wood turning. Importantly, however, it is evident that Simon enjoys teaching others, enabling them to take something pleasing home. Lunch was good too! - Sian

 

MARIANNA  - 1-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

October 2020

I cannot recommend this course enough.
Even before attending the pottery full day course, I received informative emails from the course organisers with all the information I needed in preparation for the day. The last time I did any pottery was in school approximately 3 decades ago and even then it was the basics.
I loved every minute of my day with Louise - she was very welcoming, supportive and I learned a great deal from her - from making a pinch pot, to coiling and decorating slab work and most fun of all experiencing throwing on the wheel.
The studio environment is bright,  clean and houses some lovely pieces of completed works. Louise has created a lovely balance between structuring the day and organising the sessions to learn about processes involved in making pieces of pottery, whilst still encouraging creativity and freedom to explore clay. There were refreshments throughout the day and a lovely lunch. Although it can be daunting having a one-to-one session, I felt very relaxed in Louise's company and it was very rewarding having such an opportunity to have a tutor's full attention - it felt very natural and we had plenty to talk about. I look forward to returning again in future and look forward to any other classes that may develop over time. Thank you again for such an unforgettable and exceptional day.

 

ROBERT & ALANNAH - HALF-DAY PAIRS 2 CRAFTS IN 1 DAY EXPERIENCE

October 2020

Myself and my husband did the half day pottery and woodworking course.
The course was superb from start to finish. We were made to feel so welcome from the moment we arrived, the instruction was perfectly suited to make you feel relaxed and happy while also challenging you to push yourself.
Can’t recommend highly enough.

 

ALEXANDRA - 1-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

October 2020

I had an absolutely amazing day being taught by Louise for the full day beginners ceramics course. The day was well planned and very fun, I was able to explore handbuilding techniques to create a pinch pot, coil pot and slab rolled works, with ample time left for having a go at throwing some work on the pottery wheel, which is definitely trickier than it looks :) but Louise was very helpful and I managed to throw a few good pieces! Louise was very professional yet relaxed and good company and I enjoyed her clear demonstrations and instructions.
I also appreciated the way she provided pictures and samples as inspiration for my own work. Thanks for making me so comfortable and catering for me with a yummy vegan lunch, I felt so renewed by the chance to get creative!

 

ANN - 1-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

October 2020

A fantastic day experimenting with lots of different techniques for making and decorating pots. Louise was attentive, encouraging and informative. I couldn’t have felt more welcome with refreshments through the day, a lovely lunch and interesting conversation. Using the wheel was great fun and totally absorbing. It’s encouraged me to dedicate some time to crafting as a hobby and for relaxation.
I enjoyed every minute!
Thanks again Louise and Simon.

 

EDWARD - 1-DAY PAIRS WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

October 2020

I had a great day being taught by Simon for the full day beginners woodturning course. It was highly informative and hands on, I learned all about the different tools and parts of the lathe. Simon gives good demonstrations and instructions for you to create your own pieces.
I enjoyed the wonderful lunch and a tour around their beautiful garden. I would highly recommend this course for anyone interested in learning the basics of wood turning or anyone wanting to refresh their skills or better learn how to utilise their wood turning tools. I was really pleased to take my lovely pieces home to show off :) Thanks Simon!

 

PENNY - 1-DAY PAIRS WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

October 2020

A lovely day at the home of Simon and Louise, who are running their courses from the workshops in their garden.
I did the Beginners wood turning course.
It was very well run, and I learned about the tools, the skills, and had the opportunity to make 2 pieces - a honey spoon and a small bowl.
Whilst there is still a lot more to learn, I came away with the basic skills to allow me to start practicing my wood turning at home. Simon is very enthusiastic and has a good balance of demonstrating and then allowing hands on trying for his attendees.
The course notes are extremely helpful, and I am sure I will be referring to them to refresh memory about all he taught us!
Thanks for a lovely day and for welcoming us into your home. Great lunch too!

 

MEGAN - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

October 2020

Simon and Louise made me feel really welcome and the day course was really enjoyable.
Simon was a patient and engaging teacher. I'm very happy with my creations and hope that I get the chance to try this craft again - I think I have caught the 'bodging' bug!

 

LEIGH - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

October 2020

Superb day out, the day flew by.
Straight from the get go I felt welcome in a relaxing environment. Learnt the basics throughout the day basically, tinkering with different techniques to get a desired outcome.
Left to go home with two woodturned pieces which I am very happy with.

Highly recommend.

 

DEBI & STEVE - 1-DAY PAIRS WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

October 2020

My husband and I booked this as a late anniversary gift to ourselves, and we thoroughly enjoyed the day.
Simon and Louise are lovely hosts, making us feel very welcome, and Simon quickly made us feel confident in working with the lathe. He gives clear instructions and is very attentive and was very quick to lend a hand if we got into difficulties. Refreshments were constantly being offered, and the buffet lunch was delicious.
We left with some beautiful pieces and we are very proud of being able to say "I made that!"

 

RHYS & CHARLOTTE - 1-DAY PAIRS 2 CRAFTS IN 1 DAY EXPERIENCE

October 2020

The course was a great introduction into woodturning and pottery. We instantly felt at ease and were able to learn at our own pace. We both learnt a lot in the day and would definitely recommend to anyone looking to try their hand at either craft. Thank you Simon and Louise. - Rhys

A really enjoyable course. Simon and Louise were very patient and welcoming. Lunch was lovely too! Would definitely recommend this course to any beginners. - Charlotte

 

HELEN & ANDY - 1-DAY PAIRS 2 CRAFTS IN 1 DAY EXPERIENCE

October 2020

What a great day! Simon and Louise were very welcoming and their obvious enthusiasm was infectious. The whole day was relaxed and informative and the hands on, guided approach gave us the opportunity to experience the new skills in a safe yet un-pressured way. The provided lunch was excellent and we were never without tea and biscuits. We would thoroughly recommend the day and we are already considering booking further courses.

 

CATHERINE & FRED - 1-DAY PAIRS WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

October 2020

Fabulous productive day with super wood crafts to take away and treasure.
Simon is absolutely a great tutor very patient. The whole day is just so relaxing and so much fun. Simon is such a friendly and approachable guy. We had one of our best days in a very long time. We would highly recommend this day to everyone.
Thank you. 😊 - Catherine

 

SIMON & PAUL - 1-DAY PAIRS WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

September 2020

WOW what an excellent day, from the gate opening to the gate closing when we arrived and finished the welcome we received from Simon and Louise was second to none.

Simon is an excellent tutor who works at your pace, his knowledge no only for the skills of wood turning but also about the types of wood, and what the tools are used for. This being my first experience of this skill has given me an appetite for more.

Louise was lovely keeping the tea and coffee coming and the wonderful lunch.
I thoroughly recommend this work shop for anyone wanting to learn this skill. - Paul

 

EMMA & JACQUELINE - 1-DAY PAIRS POTTERY WORKSHOP

September 2020

My mum and I attended a full day pottery workshop. We wouldn't describe ourselves as artistic types and other than 'do pottery' we weren't sure what to expect.
We had a fantastic time though, Louise was really clear showing us different techniques and had lots of inspiration for how we could use those techniques to make different items.
We made some pinch and coil pots, slab vases and thrown pots on the wheel. We were really pleased with what we'd managed to achieve and can't wait to see our items when they're fired and glazed :) - Emma

 

MALCOLM & PAULINE - 1-DAY PAIRS 2 CRAFTS IN 1 DAY EXPERIENCE

September 2020

Excellent day!
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the 2 crafts in one day. Simon and Louise are such an endearing couple, it is obvious they have a great passion for the individual crafts they teach. Their knowledge and enthusiasm is inspiring, along with their warm personalities and a great sense of humour they both made us feel very welcome. We were soon absorbed into both sessions with informative clear instruction.
Thank you Simon and Louise for your hospitality, we had a fabulous day which was over and above our expectations!

 

SHEILA & PAUL - 1-DAY PAIRS WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

September 2020

We thoroughly enjoyed our two person Wood Turning Beginners course with Simon and are delighted with what we took home. We made a beautiful bowl, a butter pat press, a light pull and two honey dippers, the latter being the result of our first practice pieces. It is amazing how a square block of wood becomes cylindrical with just a few, carefully guided, moves. Excellent, patient instruction and an altogether very interesting and satisfying experience with real, tangible, output. We learned a lot. The lunch provided was also excellent and just what we would have chosen had we been asked for a preference. We were looked after extremely well and it was just 20 minutes from home. Could not have been better.

 

TERRY - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

September 2020

This wood turning course was bought by my family as a birthday present in February. Due to the Covid-19 restrictions my initial date was put back until Sept.
Simon and Louise were exceptionally helpful in arranging everything. The course was excellent, Simon's teaching was very thorough and his patience was second to none! It was great to take home my projects a honey dipper and bowl which were admired by family and friends.
My daughter was welcomed for lunch which we were able to enjoy in their lovely garden. Both Simon and Louise are lovely friendly people and it was a joy to be in their company. We hope to see them in the future at the local craft fair. I thoroughly recommend this course for anyone.
Just a shame I didn't get to do Louise's pottery course. Perhaps another birthday present!

 

CHLOE - HALF-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

September 2020

I booked the 1/2 day pottery workshop as a birthday present for my 19 year old, recently disabled daughter.
From the very first email, Louise has been attentive, generous and caring trying to ensure Chloe's needs were catered for. The morning was a huge success playing with and then working on pinch and slab pots and then finally throwing on the wheel.
Everything was so relaxed with continual refreshments provided by Simon.
As soon as we left Chloe stated that she wanted to come back and learn more from Louise...no greater compliment I would say! -
Kathryn (Chloe's mum)

 

PETER - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

September 2020

I have just completed a one day tuition couse in woodturning.
The end result was one of the finest pieces I have ever made,  and it was a wonderful day out.
Well worth the dosh.
Many thanks to both Louise and Simon. Good on yer people!

 

TARA & ANDREA - 1-DAY PAIRS 2 CRAFTS IN 1 DAY EXPERIENCE

September 2020

Had such a great day and were really welcomed by Simon and Louise. Both are clearly very skilled and talented in their individual fields and were able to easily translate their knowledge into teaching even us...complete beginners!
A fabulous, fun, learning experience and surprisingly therapeutic. Also a great idea to combine the Wood and Pottery into one day. Perfect to be able to try out the basics of both before deciding if you want to invest more in one, the other or both. Highly recommended. - Tara

Great day learning new skills in a relaxed and easy manner with Louise and Simon. The combi-day is an excellent idea to be able to have a taster of playing with Wood and Clay. All done in a beautiful setting with lunch and great humour. Thank you. - Andrea

 

ANGELA & FRANCES - HALF-DAY PAIRS POTTERY WORKSHOP

September 2020

I don’t remember enjoying an afternoon so much in a long time!

I have wanted to try my hand at pottery for years; I’m in my mid-sixties and the last time I touched clay (other than a garden pot) was when I was at school and always regretted not having tried hand throwing.
It was fantastic!! We tried our hand at pinch pots, slab construction and hand throwing and, despite all the concentration 😂 it was very relaxing. Louise was so easy to talk to and was also very patient, encouraging and tolerant. She made us feel very comfortable. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend her course to anyone. - Angela

Had the best 1/2 day pottery session. Despite my mother being a bit of a natural on her first attempt at hand throwing (very frustrating), we both made some great pieces that I’m looking forward to using once fully finished. Louise was great, taking the booking very last minute and making us feel very welcome.

I can’t recommend this course enough and it’s in such a lovely setting. Thanks Louise. - Frances

 

AMELIA & HELEN - 1-DAY PAIRS WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

September 2020

I had a fantastic time on the day's woodturning course. I was a total beginner but was given lots of support and so happy with my pieces. It was great to be given the right amount of time and freedom to explore the tools, but also know that I had support there whenever it was needed (quite a lot!).
Lunch and snacks were also of the highest standard!
Simon has been really helpful in advising about tools and I can't wait to develop my skills further in the future. - Amelia

 

ALEX - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

September 2020

Highly recommend this course very informative and very enjoyable.

 
Annie and Kim enjoyed woodturning at Blended Monkey

ANNIE & KIM - 1-DAY PAIRS WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

August 2020

As a total novice at wood turning (and all other crafts!) I had an amazing day. Simon pitched the day perfectly so we could get the most out of it. We learnt a lot and felt that we really achieved something. It was also great fun! We had a lovely lunch and felt utterly welcome with Simon and Louise. - Annie

Great course. We got hands on very quickly and Simon was an excellent tutor. Gave very good explanations to all questions without throwing too much information at us. We made some beautiful bowls and had a memorable day. Absolutely loved it. - Kim

 
Alex and Judith enjoying pottery at Blended Monkey

ALEX & JUDITH - HALF-DAY PAIRS POTTERY WORKSHOP

August 2020

I brought the half day beginner pottery workshop for my mum for Christmas.


We had a wonderful time with Louise. The instruction was clear and easy to follow.


We really enjoyed the morning & can't wait to see our finished pots!

 
Beth having fun on her pottery workshop at Blended Monkey

BETH - HALF-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

August 2020

I had a brilliant day with Louise. Not only did I learn how to throw, centre, cone up and down, open and pull a pot on the wheel but I also had a go at a slab vase and a pinch pot.
I did the 1/2 day course and I wish I'd booked a full day as I could have stayed longer.
Louise is a very talented potter and her work is all around her studio and inspires you to do better. She is encouraging, friendly, kind, patient, easy going and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend doing this course. I am definitely going to re-book for some more tuition. Thanks Louise and Simon...for the tea!

 
Sarah and Robin enjoyed their woodturning workshop with Simon at Blended Monkey

SARAH & ROBIN - 1-DAY PAIRS WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

August 2020

We really enjoyed the wood turning course, it was a lovely day and we are very happy with the pieces we made.

Simon is an excellent tutor; very informative, and very patient!

Simon and Louise made us feel at home, plenty of refreshments, lunch was lovely. We enjoyed every second!

Highly recommend; we will be looking to book another course in the future.

 
Nick and Nicki enjoying their woodturning workshop with Simon at Blended Monkey

NICK & NIKKI - 1-DAY PAIRS WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

August 2020

A really great day learning the art of wood turning. Simon was extremely patient and clear with his instructions. The set up was very professional and well presented. Lunch was excellent (a big thank you to you both for catering for our dietary needs). In conclusion, an fantastic day which I would both highly recommend and love to do again. Thank you both so much 😊 - Nikki

A great day professionally presented. Simon's tuition was excellent allowing even a novice to produce a piece of work to be proud of. A very pleasant lunch in lovely surroundings added to the enjoyment of a fantastic experience. - Nick

 
Sally & Graham enjoyed their 2 Crafts in 1 Day workshop at Blended Monkey

SALLY & GRAHAM - 1-DAY PAIRS 2 CRAFTS IN 1 DAY EXPERIENCE

August 2020

We attended the "2 Crafts in 1 Day" experience. What a brilliant day we had. We were greeted by the hosts Simon and Louise in their beautiful garden where we later had lunch prepared for us.
We both enjoyed learning new skills and a taster for woodturning and pottery. Both were explained fully and our hosts were very patient with us while our attempts were made. Both Simon and Louise had noticeable enthusiasm for their crafts and we would very much like to return at some point.
Highly recommended and good value for money.

 
Thomas enjoying his woodturning workshop with Simon

THOMAS - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

July 2020

Really good fun!
I’d done some woodturning before, but it was really good to get some proper instruction on the matter.
Both Simon and Louise were very friendly and made the entire day a real pleasure.
I would definitely recommend this course to both newcomers and those with some experience as well.

 
Brian enjoying his woodturning workshop at Blended Monkey

BRIAN - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

July 2020

This day course was a brilliant introduction to woodturning having never done any previously.

Simon was a great tutor who took time to explain things in detail before handing over the tools for me to have a try and was always on hand to give advice or step in when required.

This course was very relaxed and informal which was ideal for someone with no turning experience and both Simon and Louise put me at ease from the start which was great as I was quite nervous when I arrived.

Many thanks to Louise for the lovely lunch and the not to mention the endless supply of refreshments throughout the day.

The information pack supplied after the course with some woodturning equipment and beginners notes as well as photos and video of the day was a nice touch.

I would recommend this course to anyone who would like to try their hand at woodturning.

 
Mathew loved his woodturning tuition with Simon at Blended Monkey

MATHEW - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

July 2020

Simon was an excellent teacher and I learned a lot of new techniques which I feel I can put to use on my own. The lunch was lovely too!

Overall a great course, I would definitely recommend it.

 
Michael & Timothy loved their woodturning workshop with Simon at Blended Monkey

MICHAEL & TIMOTHY - 1-DAY PAIRS WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

July 2020

This was a most enjoyable course and I left with numerous tips and, of course, improved techniques. Simon and Louise were great hosts and the day started with a warm welcome from both. Simon was a very patient tutor and stepped in whenever necessary but also allowed us (a 2 person course) time to practice what we had been shown.
Louise ensured we had enough drinks throughout the day, together with a lovely lunch which we ate in the very pleasant garden. When I am ready to go to the next level, I will be giving Simon a call and am happy to recommend this course to anyone who wants to start woodturning; but be warned - it is addictive!

 
Father and son have fun in the woodturning workshop at Blended Monkey

BEN & PAUL - 1-DAY PAIRS WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

July 2020

Brilliant day woodturning with Simon; found it difficult to master the basic woodturning skills at first but Simon was an excellent teacher. I was roughing out after a short demonstration and some guidance, then I was creating beads and coves within the next hour or so.  Very satisfying to create shapes so quickly, after a few minor slips which Simon showed me how to recover. Before I knew it, I’d managed to create a beautiful Honey Dipper out of a piece of Oak. Lunch followed in Simons lovely garden, then it was straight back in to the workshop to rough out a piece of Oak for a small bowl.
I went home very happy with the two pieces of work that I’d produced, I can’t wait to get hold of my own lathe and to see what I can do with my new hobby. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in woodturning, I got loads a great advice from a very patient teacher.

 
Simon enjoyed his woodturning workshop with us here at Blended Monkey

SIMON - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

July 2020

I attended a one day woodturning workshop run by Simon in his well equipped studio. The day started with a full and comprehensive rundown on the PPE required and what all the machines were for in the workshop. Simon made sure I understood all the necessary H&S requirements before he let me loose on the tools.
The coffee and biscuits helped settle me into the day ahead.
Simon's approach is methodical, technical but also relaxing in the way he shows you how to use the various tools, he will explain the technical aspects of wood turning in as much detail as you need. We started with the basics and I got used to holding the tools correctly and standing in the correct position. I then practiced various turning techniques until Simon was happy that I had understood the instructions. We went through choosing the wood, preparing it, turning and then finally sanding and protecting it. By lunchtime I have made a honey dipper and was ready for the delicious lunch that was provided. In the afternoon Simon assisted me in turning a wooden bowl, showing me the various techniques with the tools that I had learnt that morning and making sure I ended up with something that resembled a bowl which now sits proudly on my desk at home. The day was a fantastic introduction into woodturning and would highly recommend this course.

 
Jeff loved his honey dibber and bowl - Blended Monkey

JEFF - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

July 2020

Thank you for a great day's tuition in woodturning.

Simon was very helpful and informative, and made a perfect introduction to this art a very pleasant experience.


Both Simon and Louise were very welcoming, and the lunch and drinks supplied excellent and plentiful.

 
Ian made a fabulous bowl with us here at Blended Monkey

IAN - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

February 2020

Simon, thank you very much for a really enjoyable day. I also learnt a hell of a lot, just hope that I remember some of it.

It was exactly what I had hoped for but even better. Great teaching and you accurately assessed my level and what I needed.

The trouble shooting on the bowl for the mounting options, order of work and actual turning challenges was particularly useful. 

Honestly thought I was going to take yew chunks home, not a bowl.

 
Christian made some fab woodturned pieces here at Blended Monkey

CHRISTIAN - 2-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

February 2020

Simon was really patient and friendly, judged my learning pace really well. Excellent lunch and kept well watered. I will be back to further my knowledge. Simon has a real passion that shines through! Came away with pieces of work I am really proud of and a thirst to develop further. Inspiring!

TOM - 2-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

January 2020

Simon is a really nice guy, and did a good job of teaching me not only the basics of wood turning, but also what tools and equipment I should get as a beginner.

I highly recommend if your a beginner who's thinking about having a go at wood turning.

Tom made some lovely woodturned pieces with Simon here at Blended Monkey
Check out the bowl Ben made on his woodturning workshop

BEN - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

January 2020

A wonderful and inspiring day course! As an absolute beginner I learnt so much and came home with a magnificent bowl and other bits. A really warm and friendly couple, Simon’s teaching was well paced and Louise provided a great lunch and never ending cups of coffee. Cannot recommend too highly!

 
Janet made some gorgeous pieces in her Blended Monkey woodturning workshop

JANET - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

September 2019

Simon’s woodturning course was a surprise birthday present from my daughter, something I have always fancied trying. I was a complete beginner but with Simon’s guidance, patience and kindness I was pleased and surprised to come away with what I thought were three amazing pieces. I would recommend this course to anyone who would like to try their hand at something new. Many thanks also to Louise for the very welcome refreshments throughout the day.

MARK - 1-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

October 2019

A good day spent with Louise fun with throwing on the wheel and some slab work. Finished about 4 bits of work and Louise fired them and sent them by post to me a few weeks after the course. Had a nice lunch and both Louise and Simon were very helpful . A full day well spent.

Mark had a creative day on his Blended Monkey pottery workshop
Brian made a super bowl here at Blended Monkey

BRIAN - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

February 2020

An excellent day's introduction to wood turning. Simon was a great tutor allowing me plenty of time on the lathe and stepping in when I needed support (quite often!). I've wanted to try wood turning for some time and couldn't have had a better introduction.
Louise kept us well watered and fed so, all in all, a very enjoyable day.
Many thanks!

 

+44 (0)1945 772811

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest

©2012 by Blended Monkey.