PLATINUM AWARD

FOR BLENDED MONKEY

RATED EXCELLENT BY

CRAFTCOURSES.COM

Platinum Badge.jpg
 

STUDENT REVIEWS 2021

 
montage.jpg

CHRISTINE & LOUISA - HALF-DAY PAIRS POTTERY WORKSHOP

December 2021

This course is so much fun! I loved learning all the different techniques in a fun and relaxed atmosphere. Louise is kind, helpful, and fun to chat to. This experience was very relaxing, and I hope to come back again!

 
montage.jpg

BARRY - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

December 2021

This was my first woodturning experience since my school days 50 years ago and I really enjoyed my day with Simon. His enthusiasm, experience and knowledge was invaluable and I am now looking to purchase my own lathe and tools.


As well as detailed instruction on various techniques, Simon also spent time explaining how to select and sharpen the tools, dust extraction and safety equipment.


I was delighted with the bowl and decoration that I made, and my family and friends also seemed impressed.


My wife attended the pottery course with Louise on the same day and they both made us feel very welcome, including an enjoyable lunch.

 
montage.jpg

LYNNE - 1-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

December 2021

An excellent introduction to working with clay and the potter's wheel. Louise is relaxing company whilst offering instruction and advice throughout the day. The lunch was tasty and accommodated dietary needs, and tea was plentiful throughout the day ! Thank you Louise.

 
montage_edited.jpg

MICHELE & ARCHIE - 1-DAY PAIRS 2 CRAFTS IN 1 DAY EXPERIENCE

December 2021

Both Simon and Louise are so patient and incredibly talented. They are clearly very passionate about their crafts and made the day informative, safe, inspiring and fun.
They are both such lovely people and very easy to talk to and they genuinely could not have done any more to make our day special.
Me and my son had the most wonderful day learning new skills and we are hoping to return for another session next year.

 
montage.jpg

DAVID - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

December 2021

I would unreservedly recommend this course. Simon is both friendly and informative and no question is too stupid to ask. His workshop is well equipped and the programme was just right for me as a beginner (well, actually I had already turned one bowl, but that was 45 years ago at school!).

There is ample opportunity to both practise and ask questions and I was delighted with the things that Simon helped me to produce.

It was a day where I barely noticed the passage of time as I was fully engrossed for the whole workshop.
I discovered there is much more to wood turning than I realised, but was also convinced that all of it is possible.

 
montage.jpg

PAUL- 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

December 2021

A day to be enjoyed by novices and those with experience alike. Simon is an excellent tutor. He obviously has lots of experience and knowledge and a very good way of imparting it. The workshop, machinery, tools and hospitality first class.

 
montage.jpg

GEOFF - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

December 2021

I’ve always loved working with wood but never got around to wood turning. My wife bought me this course as a Birthday present and It has to be one of the best presents she has ever bought me. Simon and Louise are friendly and welcoming hosts.
Simon is extremely knowledgeable, but also has the knack of passing that knowledge on to beginners like me. His facilities are enviable with a large selection of tools and also health and safety facilities like dust extractions. On top of that he is just good company.

 
montage.jpg

ALISON & MARTIN - HALF-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

November 2021

Booked a ‘pairs’ workshop as a gift for my husband (which I could enjoy as well).

Whole experience exceeded my expectations from start to finish - gift voucher came with a lovely ceramic heart which added to the present giving experience and the afternoon we spent with Louise was just amazing!


Workshop was at just the right pace and we covered much more than we thought possible, making lots of items and having informative tuition in a relaxed environment. Our Sunday afternoons are usually fairly low-key but this weekend we ended it on a total high all thanks to our Blended Monkey experience.


We can’t wait to try woodturning now with Simon (and to pick up our masterpiece creations of course). Totally recommend booking this course - you won’t be disappointed!!

 
montage.jpg

TONY - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

November 2021

It was a wonderful day at Blended Monkey. I was made to feel very welcome and the tutor, Simon, was excellent and put me at ease immediately.
I would whole heartedly recommend this to anyone who may be interested.

 
montage.jpg

DAVID - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

November 2021

Although I had over a few years been 'playing around' with a wood lathe I’d never felt confident in what I was doing. Having looked at many YouTube videos on the subject I decided I needed some one to one tuition and the Blended Monkey site seemed to offer exactly what I was looking for.

In fact the day turned out to be that and more.

From start to finish it was an experience I won’t forget.
Simon explained and demonstrated each step, then used a guiding hand to allow you to experience the correct way of using the gouges. He then allowed you to continue on your own but was always there when you needed any help. I now feel much more confident, knowing the correct way to hold and use the gouges. Having the notes Simon supplied will be very useful and something I’m sure I will use quite frequently.
I would say to anyone thinking that wood turning might be for you Simon’s course is an absolute must.
Thank you Simon for a really great day.

 
montage_edited.jpg

STEPHEN - 1-DAY 2 CRAFTS IN 1 DAY EXPERIENCE

November 2021

Highly enjoyable day with excellent tuition. I managed to turn a finial to use as a Christmas decoration never having used a lathe before and did a range of pottery activities which were great fun.

 
montage_edited.jpg

DAVID - 1-DAY 2 CRAFTS IN 1 DAY EXPERIENCE

November 2021

I had a great day.
The place was easy to find and Louise and Simon are very welcoming. They are also very good instructors. Lunch was excellent too! Would definitely recommend for beginners and more advanced potters/woodturners.

 
montage_edited.jpg

MARCO - 2-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

November 2021

This was one of the few courses, I have been on a few, I found it to be brilliant. I had a great couple of days, learnt masses, thoroughly enjoying every minute. The instructions were very clear and my development in lathe turning has as a result improved. I am also more confident in my approach in doing something new.
Simon and Louise were both very accommodating and provided a lovely lunch. This is a course I would not hesitate in advising any lathe enthusiast to do.

 
montage.jpg

GEORGE - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

November 2021

Have wanted to try woodturning for a while and my partner bought me this course as a present.

I had an amazing time learning how to turn with Simon, he is an excellent teacher, very knowledgeable & helpful.

Had a lovely day there and would recommend it to absolutely everyone that wants to try this craft!

 
montage.jpg

LAURA & COLIN - 1-DAY PAIRS 2 CRAFTS IN 1 DAY EXPERIENCE

October 2021

My husband and I did the 2 Crafts in 1 Day with Louise and Simon & I could not recommend it more, what a brilliant day, no pressure, lovely relaxed atmosphere.
If you want to forget your everyday stresses and concentrate on something that is both relaxing and addictive then book this course you won't regret it.
We will definitely be back. Thank you both again.

 
montage.jpg

JASON - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

November 2021

I'm thinking of getting into woodturning but had no background or experience beyond some basic woodworking, so booked this one-day 1-1 course to give it a go.

Simon is an excellent teacher. I felt I learnt a great deal (which I still remember!) and got to try a variety of techniques. The time just flew by, it was 5 pm before I knew it! It's a nice location and the workshop/facilities are great. The lunch was lovely too. Went away with a nice bowl. Highly recommended.

 
MONTAGE.jpg

THOMAS & OTTILIE - 1-DAY PAIRS WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

October 2021

I attended this course with my daughter who is in her mid twenties. Although i have worked a little with wood neither of us had experience in wood turning.


Simon made us most welcome and after learning the safety and the basics we quickly got into the practical side of the course using the wood turning lathe and producing two items each to take home.


We enjoyed the informative but relaxed atmosphere in which we were taught and have already recommended this course to a couple of other friends.
Overall the experience was valuable and enjoyable. Simon showed me 'you can teach an old dog new tricks'!

 
montage_edited.jpg

MALCOLM - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

October 2021

After a 2-hour journey, I received an extremely warm welcome on arrival, followed by a much-needed coffee and an explanation of how the day was planned.
Both the morning and afternoon sessions were very constructive and informative. Simon soon has you hands-on on the lathe, resulting in producing a "Christmas Tree" in the morning and a Bowl in the afternoon.
Simon's workshop is very well equipped and his explanation of his various pieces of equipment was most thorough.
The communication from both Simon and Louise, before the course and after, was informative and timely.
I would highly recommend this course to anyone looking to learn woodturning.

 
montage.jpg

TOBY - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

October 2021

A great day!
Simon was a brilliant instructor - patient, giving me lots of time to practice and try techniques but on hand in case I needed assistance.
A really enjoyable day with a lovely lunch and got to take home a cracking couple of pieces that I can be proud of.
Would really recommend!

 
montage.jpg

EMMA - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

October 2021

I had a great time on this 1-2-1 woodturning course.
Prior to the course Louise was quick to respond to emails and answer any questions.
Simon is a great teacher and provides a great balance of guidance and space to try for yourself.
Simon and Louise provided a lovely lunch and make you feel very supported and welcome. I highly recommend the course to anyone considering and wanting to learn about woodturning.
Thank you both for a lovely day!

 
montage shot_edited.jpg

KARL - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

October 2021

I attended a 1-2-1 beginners wood turning course, Simon is an excellent teacher giving plenty of good turning working practices. I've come away with new skills and will continue to practice those on the day which were a little poor. I am looking forward to putting my lathe to more use that just turning pens.

Simon and Louise made me feel most welcome and I can highly recommend this course to anyone.
Many Thanks to you both.

 
montage_edited_edited_edited.jpg

MAUREEN & JOHN - HALF-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

October 2021

My partner and I had a great afternoon with Louise, in a relaxed, friendly and informative setting.
The tuition was fun, through gentle encouragement and exploration. We were introduced to the tools and shown the techniques as we went along and encouraged to have a go.
Louise kindly provided timely breaks for refreshment and we were able to chat and ask questions about the art of pottery and ceramic making.
We feel that we achieved a great deal in our three hours. The only thing we really wished we could have spent more time on was the pottery wheel which required greater skill and practice than we could muster.
Thank you Louise for a really enjoyable creative taster afternoon.

 
montage.jpg

FERNANDO - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

October 2021

Simon is a natural born teacher and coach and he made the course a treat. I had a wonderful lunch in a setting full of beautiful trees and came out with a beautiful bowl!!

Louise and Simon have a very good set up and I would recommend anybody to take the course.

 
montage.jpg

CHRIS - HALF-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

October 2021

I attended the 1/2 day beginners woodturning workshop with Simon and had a great time brushing up long lost skills on a wood lathe.

Simon is clearly a very skilled woodworker and made the afternoon interesting, using a variety of handtools to make the different cuts into our piece. He was patient and explained then demonstrated what was next before you got to try out too.

We still had the time to make a Christmas tree and talk about my own tools and he even made them better on his sharpening belt. I couldn't have asked for anything more and looking forward to the next step of learning how to make bowls.
Many, many thanks.

 
montage.jpg

SARAH & JO - HALF-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

October 2021

What a fantastic day - great hosts, very knowledgeable - it completely exceeded our expectations. Would definitely recommend.

 
montage.jpg

ALEX - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

October 2021

I wanted to try wood turning and this was the perfect way to do so. Simon was an excellent teacher and after a couple of practice pieces in the morning, where I learnt the basic technics, I spent the afternoon working on a turning a beautiful beech bowl. Highly recommend for anyone even slightly interested!

 
montage_edited.jpg

WILLIAM - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

October 2021

I traveled 120 miles to attend my one to one day with Simon and every mile was worth the effort.
From the minute I arrived I was greeted and made to feel comfortable and drank coffee while the day was explained to me.
The instructions were clear and I had an extremely informative day that went all too quickly. An excellent lunch was provided.
Simon’s instruction technique is excellent and soon gets you hands on the lathe.
I left with an amazing bowl and real enthusiasm to get myself started on my new hobby in retirement.
I will return for a refresher lesson and definitely recommend Simon to anyone that wants an introduction to safe wood turning.
Thank you Simon

 
montage.jpg

WILLIAM & SARAH - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

September 2021

An amazing day!


Under Simon's excellent tuition, supervision, and encouragement I turned a 2x2" square section length into a passably attractive honey dribbler, and an ugly lump of sycamore into a very bowl-like piece. (I wish I could add photographs - they are quite beautiful and I am so proud!) It was utterly absorbing.

As a complete novice (but an expert klutz) I was in danger of turning (geddit?!) my bowl into an eggcup but Simon rescued me. He was generous with his time, determined we should go away with fully finished pieces.


It was also inspiring to see what SimonTheExpert achieves - paper-thin bowls in example shapes, and spindles-as-art (both in their own right, by eccentric centring, and as a set that creates female forms in the gaps between them).


Can't recommend this highly enough :-)
But, if you don't want to find wood shavings in your underwear, wear one of the offered smocks! - William

 
montage.jpg

SUZY - 1-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

October 2021

I really, really enjoyed all aspects of the beginner's one-day pottery course and would not hesitate in recommending it to others.
Louise is an excellent tutor. She was friendly, supportive and encouraging and explained everything very clearly and easily and her enthusiasm was infectious.

 
montage_edited.jpg

CAROLINE & STEPHEN - 1-DAY PAIRS 2 CRAFTS IN 1 DAY EXPERIENCE

September 2021

Attended Blended Monkey for the day with my wife. We both had a great time, learnt some new skills and experiences. Would recommend it to anyone and I would be surprised if we are not back again at some point to take one of the skills further. You can't give a much better recommendation.

 
montage2.jpg

ANDREW & KOZO - 1-DAY PAIRS 2 CRAFTS IN 1 DAY EXPERIENCE

September 2021

Fantastic and most enjoyable day at Blended Monkey.
I did the two in one, wood turning and pottery day with my brother in law. We had a great time, learnt a lot about both crafts and had a lot of fun and laughs.
Simon and Louise are relaxed and patient teachers and we were both amazed how well we did in such a short time as total novices!
I would definitely recommend the courses.
Thanks
Andrew and Kozo

 
montage.jpg

TRACEY & MARTIN - 1-DAY PAIRS 2 CRAFTS IN 1 DAY EXPERIENCE

September 2021

What a fantastic day!
I purchased the '2 crafts in 1 day' as a gift for my husband. We were not sure what to expect but the communication with both Simon and Louise leading up to the booking was so friendly we were both looking forward to a great day and to meeting them in person. We were not disappointed.
Both the workshops - woodturning and pottery - were amazing.
We loved every minute and the day went in a blink of an eye. We have both learnt so much about both crafts which has ignited a need to be more creative going forward.
Both Simon and Louise were excellent hosts, mentors and tutors for the day - we would highly recommend giving their craft days a go!

 
montage.jpg

MARK - HALF-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

September 2021

Having been bought this course as a birthday present, I was very excited to go and experience woodturning for the first time.
I enjoy woodworking generally as a hobby, so this felt like the natural next step for me and I can confirm that this experience has helped me make up my mind and see that woodturning is definitely for me.
Both Simon and Louise were very welcoming and Simon’s passion, calmness and clear tuition gave me a great amount of confidence throughout the session. I left feeling very proud of what I had learned and a with a determination to follow this up further! A huge thank you to Blended Monkey for giving me a fantastic day and a wonderful experience.

 
montage.jpg

CHRIS - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

September 2021

Everything about this course was excellent. The tuition clear and helpful taking note of my previous lack of experience. The tutor was very helpful and ensured the safety of the pupil at all times.
The venue was well looked after and well stocked with appropriate equipment.
This was one of the most enjoyable days I have spent for a long time and I would return for a more advanced course if it were to be offered.
Lunch and refreshments were provided throughout the day, and were much appreciated. The follow-up notes and photos were unexpected and well thought through. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

 
2021-09-10 11.24.20.jpg

JOHN - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

September 2021

Excellent day had on the wood turning course. Both Simon & Louise made me feel most welcome on arrival.

Very constructive morning and afternoon sessions with Simon. There to help you constantly and was most grateful for his advice.

Nice to receive the follow up notes, photos and video reminding me of a memorable day.
Highly recommend the course to anyone. Will certainly be going back!
Thank you Louise for a lovely lunch by the way.

 
montage.jpg

HELEN - 1-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

August 2021

I was given a voucher for a pottery day from my husband for Christmas. The booking process was easy and Louise checked for any dietary requirements for lunch (I avoid cow’s milk).

On the day the travel directions were very straight forward and on arrival Louise put me at ease as she is very friendly and approachable. I was a complete beginner and enjoyed learning pinch pots, coil pots and slab building. After a lovely relaxed lunch I tried throwing on the wheel. By the end of the afternoon I had a good choice of pots to have fired and glazed.

 
montage.jpg

LISA - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

August 2021

I had such a lovely day and am very grateful for my wonderful gifts certificate from my best friend!
I was put at my ease upon arrival and was made to feel very welcome. Who could resist Harry the dog, Nala and Simba the cats and a beautiful garden?
The workshop was lovely with lots of tools and pieces to entice. Everything was clean, tidy and organised. I felt bad leaving a huge pile of shavings in my wake at the end! Simon introduced everything over coffee and explained how we would work.
Every step was explained clearly and demonstrated. I had never turned anything prior to this. I felt that I was in safe hands and could ask for more help whenever it was needed. It was lovely to be given time to practice the skills at my own pace. Making the drizzler was very pleasing. It really enabled me to see the skills I was trying to gain. Definitely need to come back to beads!
Simon was very attentive and ensured that I was a successful. He was very patient with my left handed translations! I loved every minute. The sense of awe and wonder in the beauty of the wood will remain with me. I am very proud of the things I made and I cannot recommended the course strongly enough.
We stopped for a lovely lunch half way through but I couldn’t wait to get back to start on my bowl if I am honest. The time passed so quickly.
I do hope that I will be able to return at some point and I will certainly keep a longer wood turning course on my retirement bucket list. I was definitely inspired to learn more. What a lovely hobby it would be. I also spied the ceramics workshop but have more of an eye on the silk option.
Thank you for a great introduction to something wonderful.

 
montage.jpg

TRACEY - 1-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

August 2021

I was lucky enough to have a full day pottery workshop voucher given to me for my birthday and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the day.


Louise demonstrated various types of pottery techniques, including wheel throwing, which she made look very easy!


It was all very relaxed and Louise made you feel confident enough to be creative with your own designs but guided you when needed.


I hope to gain further wheel throwing experience in the future with Louise and would definitely recommend the workshops.

 
montage.jpg

RICHARD - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

August 2021

I am a self confessed wood butcher having always enjoyed making practical objects. This course was a birthday present to allow me to experience a long term desire to try wood turning.
From the off Simon, Louise and their pets made me very welcome. The facilities are wonderful and Simon’s knowledge is extensive and he imparts it enthusiastically.
I would thoroughly recommend any course offered here due to the professionalism of Simon and Louise.
Following my rewarding day, I am designing additional storage space so I can empty my shed to create a workshop! Then I'll need another lesson (plus a lathe...) to further my knowledge.

 
montage.jpg
montage.jpg

press to zoom
montage.jpg
montage.jpg

press to zoom

KARINA & JAMES - HALF-DAY WOODTURNING & HALF-DAY POTTERY EXPERIENCE

August 2021

My wife and I attended half-day pottery and wood turning courses. We loved them!
I enjoyed learning all the wood turning techniques and using the tools to create my honey drizzle.
My wife liked making pots using the slab method and attempting a go on the pottery wheel.
Both Simon and Louise were very friendly, patient and great teachers.
We are already planning our next visit!
We highly recommend it to anyone looking for something different to do.

 
montage.jpg

RILEY - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

August 2021

I bought this for my 15 yr old son. Neither of us had any previous experience. I spent the day in the workshop as an observer as my son is a minor. Simon took time to explain things to the both of us, keeping my son 'hands-on' while allowing me to try and remember as much as possible.


The day was relaxed and offers plenty of time to learn and make some nice pieces. Simon and Louise are welcoming and brilliant hosts. Nothing seemed too much trouble and a great lunch was supplied. Simon has since helped with advice on equipment and instruction.


Riley thoroughly enjoyed the day and has had me busy installing a lathe, sorting tools and sharpening equipment. With just this one day of tuition, he is capable of producing some pretty reasonable pieces alone. A complete success.


Next, the girls want to try the pottery classes, and I wouldn't be surprised if Riley wants to return to learn some more techniques. Many thanks, and if it isn't obvious, I would highly recommend to anyone, younger or older.

 
montage.jpg

MARK - 1-DAY 2 CRAFTS IN 1 DAY EXPERIENCE

August 2021

Both SImon and Louise were patient thoughtful and caring teachers.
Excellent tuition was given in each of their fields of expertise.
They are very personable - any beginner's jitters are soon forgotten. Thanks to both for a truly enjoyable day!

 
montage_edited.jpg

GRAHAM - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

August 2021

I had always been interested in taking up woodturning ever since the afternoon at school many years ago when I was allowed to try out the lathe in the woodwork class. So I was delighted when my wife gave me this one-day course (and a lathe!) as a birthday present.

The moment I arrived, I was made to feel very welcome by Louise and Simon. As a beginner I was very conscious of the piece of wood spinning on the lathe and the laws of physics, on the grounds that it is not natural for part of a tree to spin horizontally at 1000 rpm! However, Simon explained the issues around safety and safe practice, which was very reassuring. I had great fun turning up my first project - a honey dipper - during which Simon taught the principles of turning coves and beads. In the afternoon, I produced a bowl, again with Simon's guidance. He is an expert tutor; his teaching style is relaxed but professional and the course is taught in a workshop that is well equipped and well organised. I took along my own recently purchased turning tools, which Simon checked over and tweaked to ensure they worked efficiently. I now understand the purpose of each of the gouges, and was also shown how to sharpen the tools and the different types of grind that I can try out. He also gave advice on the care and storage of woodturning blanks.

After the course Simon emailed the course notes to me, plus the videos that were shot during the day - these are really helpful. At the end of the day I was fired with enthusiasm and felt much more confident about the practice of woodturning. My daughter has already asked me if I could make her a bedside table with turned legs. In at the deep end!

Louise provided an excellent lunch, and tea and coffee appeared at just the right times. I would thoroughly recommend this course, and Blended Monkey, to anyone interested in learning a new skill, or extending their knowledge. I might even go back and try the pottery workshop!

 
montage.jpg

JOANNA - 1-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

August 2021

I had the most enjoyable day with Louise at Blended Monkey. I got given a Pottery Throwing voucher for my birthday and having done it before I was slightly nervous. Louise made me feel very comfortable and relaxed and she was great at encouraging me as I designed my pieces. She was a great teacher. I really enjoyed the throwing part of the day and can't wait to have another go one day soon.

 
montage.jpg

ALAN - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

August 2021

Like many of the reviews above, the day with Blended Monkey was bought for me as a present. Perhaps because I have made several walking sticks, my sons felt I should probably progress my skills!!


The day exceed my expectations. Louise and Simon being the perfect hosts with a genuine welcome to the world of wood turning. Simon was patient, clear and concise with instructions along with his enthusiasm made the day one to remember.


I would highly recommend Blended Monkey to novices as well as experienced individuals who want to expand their knowledge of wood turning and have an excellent value for money day out. Thank you Simon and Louise.

 
montage.jpg

MOLLY - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

August 2021

I would really recomend this course for anyone interested in wood turning. Simon was such a great teacher and so knowledgeable. It was a great introduction and it was wonderful to be able to make something lovely by the end of the day. It left me wanting to do more.
Thank you Simon and Louise for the day and for being so welcoming!

 
montage.jpg

ROGER - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

August 2021

I was made to feel welcome by Simon and Louise the minute I stepped out of my car.
Very professional and friendly tuition, I couldn't have asked for better. Though I had some idea of what I was doing I still learned an awful lot in one day. I would recommend this course to anyone even vaguely interested in woodturning - they'd soon get the bug.
Wouldn't mind going back next year for a refresher and upgrade.

 
montage_edited.jpg

DAVID - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

August 2021

I was extremely fortunate to have the 1-day woodturning course as a surprise Christmas present from last year. I was looking forward to my workshop day which was booked in the August.

It was definitely worth the wait and had a fantastic day learning about woodturning with Simon. I've learn't so many different wood turning techniques in a day and successfully made a honey drizzler and bowl. I couldn't recommend Blended Monkey enough.

Thank you Simon and Louise for a fantastic experience.

All the best, David

 
montage.jpg

DANIEL - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

August 2021

An excellent day spent with Simon making a mess in his workshop and creating some awesome wooden creations on the lathe.
Friendly and bright atmosphere!
I would highly recommend this to anyone.

 
Montage.jpg

JO & LUCY - HALF -DAY PAIRS POTTERY WORKSHOP

July 2021

My daughter and I had a brilliant time on the pairs half day pottery session. We received a warm welcome from Louise and found it to be a lovely relaxed, creative environment. We received great tuition from Louise and can't wait to see how our creations have turned out after glazing and firing. Highly recommend Blended Monkey - I'd really like to come back and make more!

 
Ian and Ann montage_edited_edited.jpg

IAN & ANN - 1-DAY PAIRS 2 CRAFTS IN 1 DAY EXPERIENCE

July 2021

We decided to give each other as a Christmas present 2020, the 2 crafts in 1 day course, wood turning and pottery with Blended Monkey, managed to book it in July.
I have done woodworking which is not the same as wood turning and have never done pottery, my wife had not done either. The day started on time at 10am and ended at 5pm with one hour for lunch at 1pm.
Enjoyed both, good teaching in the wood turning and we both manged to produce the set piece of a honey spoon. Also, good teaching in the pottery, three styles taught hand formed, slab and wheel. The wheel is the hardest one and found the slab the easiest or more productive style.
We await the outcome of our pottery efforts when they have been fired.
Lunch was provided which provided a relaxation and chance to chat, with the hosts Louise and Simon.
Overall, I would recommend this Blended Monkey course, regardless of skill level. - Ian

We had a fantastic time at Blended Monkey, Simon and Louise both led us through our new crafts in an understandable way. They made us feel very welcome and were easy to talk to, Louise treated us to a lovely lunch too! We were very happy with the way we progressed through both sessions and are proud of what we made!! We had great fun and highly recommend them as an experience. - Ann

 
Montage_edited.jpg

SARAH - 1-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

July 2021

What a day!! I loved every second of this course!
Started with hand building pinch pots, coil pots and slab, understanding techniques and tools.
Went on to throwing on the wheel coning and shaping and came out with three pots. I could of spent all weekend doing this!
Information that Louise gives is extremely valuable from such a talented lady.
I cannot wait to see the final glazed pieces!

Louise and Simon are great hosts and make you feel very welcome - this was my second trip to blended monkey after my partner and I completed a woodturning course, it was lovely to be back doing this pottery course with Louise.

 
montage.jpg

GRAHAM & TINA - 1-DAY PAIRS WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

August 2021

We booked this course hoping to get a good insight into woodturning and we were not disappointed. Simon and Louise were great hosts and made us feel at ease as soon as we arrived. Simon spent time running through the basics of the lathe and the safety considerations and then we were soon producing our first piece of work, a honey twizzler. After the morning session, we were treated to a farmhouse lunch, which was fully gluten free, accommodating my dietary needs. In the afternoon we worked on making bowls and whilst we had to learn new skills, Simon was a great tutor and gave lots of encouragement. At the end of the day, we stood for a photo opportunity, proudly showing off the fruits of our labour.

We would highly recommend this course if you are interested in taking up woodturning or just want to experience making something.

 
montage.jpg

MARK - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

July 2021

The Blended Monkey 1-Day Course is a very good way to experience woodturning for the first time. It is professionally organised and run. In addition the tuition is flexible to reflect the student's interests and existing knowledge.

The workshop itself is well equipped and safely managed. Simon is a fine teacher keen to share his skills and passion for woodturning in a very accessible manner. The follow-up pack of course notes and equipment guide is very helpful.

Together Simon and Louise make a great team.

 
montage_edited.jpg

ALISON - 1-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

August 2021

Had a wonderful 1-2-1 Pottery Day with Louise at Blended Monkey.

It was an incredibly relaxed and friendly environment which was perfect for exploring my artistic side as I learnt to use a variety of techniques to make pots and vases.

I can’t wait for them to be fired and glazed so I can see them finished.
I would definitely recommend Blended Monkey!!

 
Montage.jpg

CHRIS - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

July 2021

This was a fantastic course in a great setting. I was made welcome from the start and the level of tuition was just right and extremely good . I was given loads of tips on how to develop my wood turning, storing wood and tool care.

I would thoroughly recommend this course to anyone who is starting out in wood turning!

 
montage.jpg

TINA & IAN - 1-DAY PAIRS WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

July 2021

What a fantastic day from start to finish. Louise met us with a warm friendly smile. We then met Harry an adorable big soft as anything Alsatian.
Simon was already in the workshop, he also gave us a very warm welcome.
Ian my husband has worked with wood for years and loves to make things and has a lot of knowledge. However he was very new to wood turning, I was worried he may not enjoy the day. It turns out he had a fabulous time and learnt lots of new techniques. Simon is an outstanding teacher, he has the ability to explain things in the most simple way, without making you feel silly. He also has the patience of a saint.
One last thing Louise presented the most wonderful lunch just perfect for us.
Highly recommend to both novice or experienced people, you will not find a better tutor.
Thanks once again Simon, Louise and Harry
Look forward to seeing you both again soon. X

 
montage_edited.jpg

JOE - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

July 2021

I had a wonderful day on Simon's woodturning course, and have learned new skills which will enable me to develop my new found hobby. This was a birthday gift from my partner which will keep on giving for many years to come!
Simon really explained everything well and pretty soon I was getting hand’s on tuition and slowly but surely building my confidence under Simon’s expert and watchful eye.
Simon and Louise really looked after me well with plenty of food and refreshments during the day, and all set in lovely surroundings.
I’m delighted with my projects which I was able to take home, and would strongly recommend Simon’s course to anyone wanting to try their hand at woodturning.
Highly recommended!

 
montage_edited.jpg

BILL - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

July 2021

The level of tuition was exactly right - clear, well explained and the right pace. I was pleased to learn so much and come away with pieces that looked good.

The facilities there are good, with a good light lunch and pleasant surroundings too.

I'd readily go back for more, but wondering how and where I can put kit of my own!
Many thanks to both.

 
Montage.jpg

VALERIE - 1-DAY 2 CRAFTS IN 1 DAY EXPERIENCE

July 2021

Husband and I treated ourselves to a 2 in 1 day with Blended Monkey as belated birthday presents. We had a super full day. Simon and Louise are both excellent as teachers, giving you plenty of advice and encouragement and a soupçon of constructive criticism. Neither of us had done any wood turning before and I could have happily turned my piece of wood all day but by lunchtime we had made honey dippers. The workshop is a comfortable place to work and has high quality equipment and a range of safety features.

At the end of the morning we had a chance to explore the garden and meet the resident cats, fish and dog.

I did pottery with Louise after lunch. Louise started off with pinch pots and we moved on through slab pots to throwing on the wheel. There was plenty of clay and lots of advice.
I’m looking forward to seeing the finished pots after firing.
A very full day, well worth the money just don’t wear your best clothes and cut your nails!

 
Louise and David montage.jpg

LOUISE & DAVID - 1-DAY PAIRS WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

July 2021

Absolutely fabulous! We were greeted by Simon, Louise and their dog Harry, all incredibly welcoming.
As complete wood turning novices, we had no idea what to expect from the day ahead but Simon gave us a great introduction, he showed us how to use a number of wood turning tools and demonstrated techniques from which we made a pine honey dipper and a sycamore bowl each…almost all our own work!!!!
Lunch was a tasty ploughmen’s - fun, friendly and relaxed day. Would thoroughly recommend.

 
montage.jpg

IAN & ROY - 1-DAY PAIRS WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

July 2021

Thank you Simon and Louise for your hospitality, chat, fabulous lunch and of course a great day of We found Simon and Louise both very knowledgeable and accommodating, meeting my fathers specific disabilities to enable him to participate fully in the woodturning.


It was great to have lunch around the farmhouse table, discussing progress with fellow pottery students too.


We made a honey dibber and small bowl! We would fully recommend the day.

 
montage.jpg

STUART - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

July 2021

Thank you Simon and Louise for your hospitality, chat, fabulous lunch and of course a great day of tutoring by Simon on the pleasures of making all things wooden. I came away with a lot of advice and pointers.
What a wonderful surround and setup!!
No hesitation in recommending Blended Monkey
Go on, give it a go, you won’t regret it. 👍👍

 
Michelle montage .jpg

MICHELLE - HALF-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

June 2021

Did the half day pottery experience. Excellent tuition and thoroughly enjoyable. Would totally recommend doing the Full day course as time just flies by when you're having such fun !!

 
Montage_edited.jpg

SARAH & LANCE - 1-DAY PAIRS 2 CRAFTS IN 1 DAY EXPERIENCE

June 2021

What a fantastic day! We learnt two new skills in one day and loved both. Simon and Louise are very welcoming and very patient in their teaching; instructions were easy to follow and very helpful and all aspects of health and safety were very clear. We also had a very tasty lunch. Both crafts were extremely enjoyable and very satisfying; it is lovely to come away with something we made (and a certificate!) Our honey dibbers are beautiful and have already been shown off to friends and family and we are looking forward to seeing out pottery after it is fired and glazed. We would (and already have) recommend this craft day - we had a lot of fun and are proud of our achievements. Thank you Simon and Louise.

 
Peter montage.jpg

PETER - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

June 2021

Simon and Louise gave me a very warm welcome when I arrived and what followed was a wonderful day of woodturning! Simon is a brilliant teacher - informative, inspiring, patient and helpful. I felt at home throughout the day and whenever I had questions or needed advice, Simon was there to help. Like all great teachers Simon stood back and let me get on with it, but always with his watchful eye to make sure I used the tools and techniques correctly.

Drinks, snacks and a lovely lunch in the dappled shade of the garden added to the day and in the end I'd managed to make a honey scoop and sycamore bowl, much to my delight and my wife's astonishment!

If you're thinking of trying your hand at woodturning, look no further than Simon at Blended Monkey - I can't recommend it highly enough!

 
Robert Castle montage_edited.jpg

ROB - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

June 2021

A excellent and very informative day for me as a complete novice to woodturning, Simon is a very good tutor and the workshop environment he has set up is first class, I came away with a far better understanding of what to do and what not to do, very happy. Louise put on a lovely lunch which was greatly appreciated and the tea kept coming just when you needed it, all in all, a great day and one I would recommend to anyone interested in getting into woodturning.
Thank you Simon and Louise.

 
Jane and Pete montage .jpg

JANE & PETE - HALF-DAY PAIRS POTTERY WORKSHOP

June 2021

We both had a great time and really enjoyed our pottery session with Louise. Such a warm welcome and a no-pressure relaxed atmosphere made our afternoon informative, productive and fun.
The way I was taught at school was nothing like the way Louise explained the techniques - no endless 'wedging' in order to get the clay workable and no soggy lumps of clay sliding all over the wheel and refusing to stay central. Everything was prepared for us and we were ready to start potting within minutes of our arrival - and all this with tea/coffee and biscuits. Perfect! Thank you so much Louise and looking forward to seeing our 'masterpieces'!

 
Montage_edited.jpg

PHILIP - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

June 2021

Simon’s woodturning course was a Christmas gift from my children and was something I had always wanted to do.
Both Simon and Louise make you feel very welcome. Along with Simon’s guidance and teaching skills for beginners and Louise’s hospitality ( plenty of drinks and a lovely lunch ) they make for a fantastic team.
If anyone is thinking of doing something like this I couldn’t think of a better place to start.
I am looking forward to doing the Intermediate course in the future.

 
Miles Mitchell montage.jpg

MILES - 1-DAY WOODTURNING WORKSHOP

June 2021

I had a fantastic day woodturning with Simon. He was an excellent and patient teacher and I would recommend him highly to anybody who wants to learn the craft!
Louise was lovely and accommodating too, and next time I would love to try pottery with her!
The lunch was also lovely.
Thanks guys!
5 stars!

 
Montage Pat Grant.jpg

PAT - HALF-DAY POTTERY WORKSHOP

June 2021

A brilliant day out!
Super friendly, unbelievably enthusiastic and positive with fantastic knowledge! Would recommend it to anyone.

 
Becca and Sarah montage.jpg

BECCA & SARAH - 1-DAY PAIRS 2 CRAFTS IN 1 DAY EXPERIENCE

June 2021

Unbelievably happy with this craft day. Simon and Louise are so welcoming and knowledgeable.

Really fantastic teachers
I learned new things and left with some lovely crafts I can feel proud of. - Sarah